Monday, January 30, 2017

President Conde Elected AU Chairman

President Alpha Conde of the Republic of Guinea has been elected as the new Chairman of the African Union. He succeeds President Idriss Deby of Republic of Chad.

His election was conducted by the Heads of State and Government of the African Union, during their 28th Ordinary Session holding in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The Chairperson of the AU is the ceremonial head of the Union. He or she is elected by the Assembly of Heads of State for a one-year term.

The post rotates annually amongst the five geographic regions of Africa; and over the years it has assumed the following order: East, North, Southern, Central and West Africa.