NERC Increases Electricity Tarrifs, Scraps Fixed Charges

The Nigerian Electricity
Regulatory Commission has finally released the new power tariff regime, in
which it outlined the various rates of increase in energy charges for consumers
across the country.
It also announced the removal
fixed electricity charges for all classes of electricity consumers and noted
that power users would only pay for what they consume.
About two weeks ago, the Minister
of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, revealed that electricity
tariffs would increase and urged consumers to comply with respect to paying
their bills, as he promised that the sector would record considerable
improvement thereafter.

Confirming the tariffs increase on
Monday, NERC stated that henceforth, from the next billing period, power
distribution companies would no longer charge their customers monthly fixed
Fixed charge is that component of
the tariff that commits electricity consumers to paying an approved amount of
money not minding whether electricity is consumed during the billing period.
Outlining the rates of increase in
tariffs for various customer classes in selected locations across the country,
NERC said, “For instance, residential customer classification (R2) in Abuja
Electricity Distribution Company will no longer pay N702 fixed charge every
month. Their energy charge will increase by N9.60.
“Also, residential customers (R2
customers) in Eko and Ikeja electricity distribution areas will no longer pay
N750 fixed charges. They will be getting N10 and N8 increase respectively in
their energy charges. Similarly, the burden of N800 and N750 fixed charges
would be lifted off the shoulders of Kaduna and Benin electricity consumers.
These consumers will see an increase of N11.05 and N9.26 respectively in their
energy charges.”

This comes less than a week after
the House of Representatives asked NERC to stop plans to increase electricity

Follow Us on Facebook – @LadunLiadi; Instagram – @LadunLiadi; Twitter – @LadunLiadi; Youtube – @LadunLiadiTV for updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here