Tuesday, July 31, 2018

University Of Ibadan Also Honours Wole Soyinka, Renames Arts Theatre After Him

The management of the University of Ibadan today renamed its Arts Theatre after Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka.

U.I also named the Practical Theatre as Geoffrey Axworthy studio. Axworthy was the founding Director of the School of Drama of the university in 1962. Soyinka was also the founding head when the school was transformed into a full Department of Theatre Arts in 1970.

Speaking at the unveiling of the theatre, the Vice Chancellor of the university, Prof. Idowu Olayinka, said the event marked a major landmark in the history of the university. The vice-chancellor said the two iconic figures had played significant roles in the development of the department and the growth of performing arts in the country.

It will be recalled that OAU yesterday also named a museum after Soyinka.