Court declares the defection of Saraki, Dogara, 51 others unlawful


Justice Okon Abang of the Federal High Court has said that the defection of 53 members of the National Assembly is unlawful.

He stated this while presiding in a case seeking to remove 54 lawmakers for defecting from one party to another when there was no division in their parties as claimed.

An advocacy group, Legal Aides Assistant Project (LEDAP), had instituted the case against the Senate President, Bukola Saraki; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara; former Senate Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio, and 51 other members of the National Assembly.

While Justice Abang stated that the action of the lawmakers was unlawful, he agreed that Senator Akpabio did not defect but joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) after he was expelled from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Follow Us on Facebook – @LadunLiadi; Instagram – @LadunLiadi; Twitter – @LadunLiadi; Youtube – @LadunLiadiTV for updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here