INEC sets January 25 for 28 rerun polls


Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed January 25, 2020, for the conduct of the 28 outstanding court-ordered rerun elections across in the country.

The commission announced this yesterday in Abuja in a statement by its National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye.

The statement said the election petition tribunals constituted to try cases that arose from the 2019 general elections received 807 post-election petitions, out of which 582 were dismissed and 183 withdrawn by the petitioners.

It explained that of the remaining 42 cases, 30 were decided for rerun and 12 ordered to give Certificates of Return.

Of the 30 rerun cases, two – Kogi West Senatorial District supplementary rerun election and Ajaokuta Federal Constituency – were conducted on November 30.

Follow Us on Facebook – @LadunLiadi; Instagram – @LadunLiadi; Twitter – @LadunLiadi; Youtube – @LadunLiadiTV for updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here