Sunday, April 18, 2021

UEFA, EPL threatens to ban Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, others over European Super League plans

The Premier League, its European counterparts and UEFA have released a joint statement condemning plans for a European Super League and will consider banning any teams that take part in the breakaway format. 

12 clubs from England, Spain and Italy have been in talks to join a new league format which would effectively bring an end to the Uefa Champions League.

The Premier League’s ‘big six’ – Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham – are understood to be among those clubs to have signed up for the new format which would operate without qualification or relegation.

But a joint statement from UEFA, the English Football Association, the Premier League, the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), La Liga, the Italian Football Federation (FIGC) and Lega Serie A has strongly hit back at the ‘cynical project’ – warning of heavy sanctions for those involved.

The governing bodies also paid tribute to clubs from France and Germany thought to be Paris Saint-Germain, Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund for turning down the proposal.

No comments:

Post a Comment